Should I get an attorney for child support?

Should I get an attorney for child support?

No, you do not need a lawyer to establish child support, but hiring one can help. However, you may be able to figure out how much child support you need with online resources, and get a child support order from the courts, without using an attorney.


Do you have to pay back child support after the child turns 18?

Collecting Back Child Support After the Child Turns 18. Just because your ex missed a child support payment doesn’t mean the obligation goes away. Like any financial obligation, the amount you’re owed will accumulate and your ex will still be responsible for making back child support payments.

How old does a child have to be to get child support?

In cases over the years, the courts have ruled that these other reasons include secondary and post-secondary studies. Prior to the 1997 changes to the Divorce Act, judges were allowed to decide whether parents had to make child support payments for children 16 years of age or older.

When do you stop paying child support to a child?

So even though the child has reached the age a majority, the payments that should have been made before he or she turned 18 are still enforceable after that. Keep in mind that state laws can vary a little on this issue. For example, some states cut off child support at 18, some at 19, and others at 21.

Can a court determine the age of majority for child support?

Most provinces and territories have laws in place so parents and courts can determine child support for children at or over the age of majority when the parents are separating but not divorcing, or were never married.

Collecting Back Child Support After the Child Turns 18. Just because your ex missed a child support payment doesn’t mean the obligation goes away. Like any financial obligation, the amount you’re owed will accumulate and your ex will still be responsible for making back child support payments.

When do you stop paying child support to an adult?

Most states terminate [&child&] [&support&] obligations when a child reaches [&age&] of majority or graduates from high school. Other states extend [&child&] [&support&] payments until the child turns 21 or even longer for adult children enrolled in a post-secondary institution or for adult [&children&] with [&disabilities&].

Is there Statute of limitations on child support?

Child support that’s more than two years past due or more than $10,000 can result in a criminal felony charge and up to two years in prison. Some states set a statute of limitations on collecting back child support, while others treat it like any other debt and collect until it’s paid in full. How to Avoid Owing Back Child Support

When does back child support become a felony in Georgia?

Back child support becomes a felony in Georgia when a person reaches the third offense for failing to pay or leaves the state. Once arrested for criminal nonsupport, a person could spend one to three years in prison.

Previous Post Next Post